I am a religious bigot

Romney at youtube: http://youtube.com/watch?v=_OXtxFUCKjA

Romney at NPR: http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=16846036

Listen to the VERY END of the NPR thing. Robert Siegel goes, “well thanks for talking with me, just the same.” HA!

I have to deal with the fact that I like the snarkiness of the “Do you believe in the literal truth” question. I like to see Romney twisting in the wind over it – well, no, I don’t believe some of the “special effects” parts of the bible, but I can’t say that, because that will alienate the fundamentalists in the republican party.

Romney doesn’t want his religion to play a part in this because “mormonism” is wierd. He doesn’t want to get into it, because that will invite further inquiry into what he “really believes.”

I’m torn, too. I want to be a tolerant person, I really do. But I think that I am MUCH less likely to vote for a candidate who believes in the “literal truth” of the bible. So does that make me a religious bigot?

I suppose I really DO care about the candidates’ religious views. If they actually have any, I’m scared of them.

0 Responses to “I am a religious bigot”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

