Subhead

What are those fragment-y chapter subheadings they used (I think) in victorian novels called? They describe what’s going to happen in the chapter you’re going to read, section by section. I came across them reading The Great American Novel by Philip Roth. Here’s an example:

A chapter containing as much as has ever been written anywhere on the subject of midgets in baseball. In which all who take pride in the nation’s charity will be heartened by an account of the affection bestowed by the American public upon such unusual creatures. Being the full story of the midget pinch–hitter Bob Yamm, his tiny wife, and the nemesis OK Ockatur. How the Yamms campured the coutry’s heart. What the newspapers did in behalf of the midgets. The radio interview between Judy Yamm and Martita McGaff…In which the Mundys arrive in Kalooka to deafeat the demoralized Reapers.

Epigrams?
Subheads?
Chapter headings?
Table of contents?

I just don’t know.
Please, ye readers, enlighten me.

1 Response to “Subhead”


  1. 1 aec September 5, 2007 at 9:10 am

    My mother pointed me in this direction: http://gutenberg.hwg.org/markup1a.html

    The gutenbergers call them “summaries” and that seems pretty right. It’s just that I don’t think people will know what I’m talking about if I say “the chapter summary”. I’d have to go out of my way, probably, and say “you, the chapter summary thing at the beginning of the chapter? you know, the “in which our hero…” junk? that thing.”

    thanks mom!


Leave a Reply

